How the Prison System Fails Transgender People

Feisty Feminism

Two years ago as of June 1st, I lost a dear friend to suicide.  In life, my friend Shelly was the most vibrant, fun, kind, warm, funny person I have ever known.  She had one of those laughs that made you laugh with her, even when you were down.  The moment I first met her, I felt like I had known her my whole life.  So when Shelly took her own life, I felt as if the world had gone just a little bit darker.  The world had lost a very bright spot.

The events that led to Shelly’s death were complicated, as it always is.  Shelly was a transgender woman, and had been for many, many years.  She was happily married to a lovely woman for several years.  The couple had fallen on hard times, and unfortunately Shelly made a mistake that landed her in prison.  I was extremely…

View original post 327 more words

One thought on “How the Prison System Fails Transgender People

  1. Thank you so much for the reblog, I really want to get my story out there. The prison system fails on so many levels, it’s infuriating.

Leave a Reply

