Kids Locked Up for Life [INFOGRAPHIC]

6 thoughts on “Kids Locked Up for Life [INFOGRAPHIC]

  1. Veronica says:

    I would love to share some of your “stories” on your blog in the many Facebook pages that I follow. I know that they could benefit from. Is there anyway you could make your emails shareable, and/or start a facebook page with your information? If you could look into it, and then get back to me, I’d appreciate it.
    Thanking you in advance,
    Veronica McInnis

    • Thank you for your interest. I did try a FB page for a while, but was not satisfied with it. I am not a techie person (as is evident from the relative lack of pictures and fun graphics on this blog). I may try again later. For the moment, you are certainly welcome to post the web address for any article into a FB comment and it will link.

      Thanks again.

  2. Joanne says:

    Well personally I do not believe that life without possibility for parole needs to exist for anyone. If they are not ready for parole then don’t grant it, but we cannot know that they will never be ready at the time of sentencing. But then again, I may have extreme views on this matter.

  3. Thanks for the comment, Joanne! For the most part, I agree with you. There are many older people in our prisons and you just wonder what possible harm they could be to the community after a certain age. Then again, in Ohio, we’ve really been taken aback by the whole Ariel Castro situation in Cleveland – at what age would you really trust that man around any woman or child? And if you were those women (or his child!), what would give you greater peace – having to come before the Parole Board every couple of years and fight for him to stay in prison, or to have resolution from knowing that he will never get out and be able to harm you?

    I don’t normally take the hard-on-crime approach, but I can see that it can serve a purpose…

    • Joanne says:

      In prisons, like in many other circumstances, subsequent to horrific events, reactionary decsions are made that affect many people who were not involved and who do not fit the profile. Yes, I do believe that there are some cases where parole may never be realistic, but I also believe that these are rare.

      As for parole hearings every two years, I believe that there are ways around this too. In Canada the parole board is allowed to elect to have paper decisons without a hearing for people where no progress has been made. Also, hearings do not have to be held at specific intervals for certain individuals.

      Keeping people inside without hope is not a good thing for anyone. It is not good for them, not good for those who work directly with them, and it does not reflect well on the society that condones it. Essentially, those people have to be seen as other than human if we allow that this must be their fate.

  4. As always, I appreciate your comments, Joanne. I agree that holding out the possibility of parole is beneficial, both for the inmates’ mentality and for population management.

    Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

